Recent Events

Saturday 9 April 2022

CrimeFest 2022: A Change Is As Good As A Rest: Writing More Than One Series

 Thursday 12 May 2022
15:50 -16:40

The Panel are: M J Lee, Dougkas Lindsay, Michael Stanley
(Stan Trollip), T E Kinsey

and the participating Moderator is Michael Ridpath

artin Lee has spent most of his adult life writing
in one form or another. As a university researcher in history, he wrote pages of notes on reams of obscure topics. As a social worker with Vietnamese refugees, he wrote memoranda. And, as the creative director of an advertising agency, he has written print and press ads, tv commercials, short films and innumerable backs of cornflake packets and hotel websites. He has spent 25 years of his life working outside the North of England. In London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai, winning awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York and London Festivals, and the United Nations.  Whilst working in Shanghai, he loved walking through the old quarter of that amazing city, developing the idea behind a series of crime novels featuring Inspector Pyotr Danilov, set in 1920s and 30s. When he's not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia.   His most recent book is The Missing Father, published April 2022. .

Douglas Lindsay was born in Scotland in 1964, and now lives in Somerset. He has written over twenty books, including the Barney Thomson barbershop series, and DS Hutton crime novels. His first book, The Long Midnight of Barney Thomson, was released as a motion picture in 2015, starring Robert Carlyle, Emma Thompson and Ray Winstone. 2019 sees the publication of the first three titles in the DI Westphall series, published by Mulholland. His latest book is Let me Die in my Footsteps, Published 22 April 2022.

Michael Stanley is writing duo Stanley Trollip
and Michael Sears. Their mystery novels, featuring Detective Kubu, are set in Botswana. The third – Death of the Mantis – won a Barry Award and was an Edgar finalist. Their fourth, Deadly Harvest, was a finalist for an International Thriller Writers award. Their seventh mystery, Facets of Death, was released in 2020. Their book, Dead of Night, published in 2019, is a thriller about rhino-horn smuggling, with protagonist Crystal Nguyen. Stanley lives in Minneapolis and Cape Town.

T.E. Kinsey (Tim) was born in the 1960s. He grew up in
London in the 1970s and went to university in Bristol in the 1980s. He worked in magazines in the 1990s, and for IMDb in the 2000s. He still lives near Bristol. At the moment he’s mostly responsible for the popular historical cozy series   The Lady Hardcastle Mysteries (Thomas & Mercer) but he does occasionally play the drums.  Rotten to the Core is the eigth book in the Lady Hardcastle series and will be published 6 Hune 2022.

Michael Ridpath was born in Devon in 1961 but
brought up in Yorkshire. He was educated at Millfield, Merton College, Oxford. Before becoming a writer, Michael Ridpath used to work in the City of London as a bond trader.  He has written eight thrillers set in the worlds of business and finance. In 2010 he published the Where The Shadows Lie, the first in the Fire and Ice series featuring an Icelandic detective named Magnus Jonson. He has published five further books in the series. The latest being Death in Dalvik, published April 2022. In between the writing the series he has published three standalone novels. He lives in London.

No comments:

Post a Comment