Recent Events

Thursday, 24 March 2022

‘Then She was Dead’ by Jane Adams

Published by Joffe Books,
3 September 2021.
ISBN: 978-1-78931939-2 (PB)
Originally Published as
Dangerous to Know

Colin Grainger is not one of life’s high achievers, but he does have a gift for hacking into other people’s computers.  When he hacks into the computer of his boss, local nightclub owner Charlie Radcliffe, he discovers major fraud.

Although devoid of career ambition, Colin does have one dream - to get back with his wife Moira, who is now a high-flyer in the police.  He is sure that Moira will be impressed with his findings and maybe it will help her career which in turn will make him look good in Moira’s eyes.   Moira is impressed and says she will make some low-level enquiries - but two days later she is dead.

Fellow officer John Moore, with whom Moira was having a relationship, is devastated and blames Colin for Moira’s death. In desperation and grief Colin does something stupid and then Charlie Radcliffe is onto him.  Unwilling to confess to the police what he had done, Colin decides to go it alone.  When a second murder occurs Colin is really scared, but everything he does seems to compound his problems. 

Colin Grainger is not exactly one’s idea of a hero, but maybe that’s what makes the story so real and so frightening.  A real page turner. Recommended.

Reviewer: Lizzie Hayes

Jane Adams was born in Leicestershire, where she still lives. She has a degree in Sociology and has held a variety of jobs including lead vocalist in a folk rock band. She enjoys pen and ink drawing; martial arts and her ambition is to travel the length of the Silk Road by motorbike. Her first book, The Greenway, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award. Jane writes several series.  Her first series featured Mike Croft. Several books featuring DS Ray Flowers. Seven titles featuring blind Naoimi Blake, and six titles featuring Rina Martin. In 2016 she started a series set between the two World Wars and featuring Detective Inspector Henry Johnstone and his sergeant, Micky Hitchens.  Bury Me deep is the first book in a series featuring Detective Inspector Rozlyn Priest.  Jane has also written several standalone novels. She is married with two children.

No comments:

Post a Comment