Recent Events

Tuesday, 22 March 2022

‘Murder on the Cliff’ by Jane Adams

Published by Joffe Books,
16 November 2021.
ISBN: 978-1-80405043-9 (PB)
Originally Published as
Fragile Lives.

For those of you who have not read the first of this series of books, let me introduce to you the main characters: Inspector Detective Sebastian McGregor (Mac), retired actress turned sleuth Rina Martin, Tim – entertainer and one of Rina’s lodgers and thirteen-year-old George who previously mixed with the wrong people.

We learn that George Parker is now living at Hill House a place run by social services, after the disappearance of his father. He is not too happy there but is befriended by a twelve-year-old girl Ursula. He slowly settles in with her help.

A body is washed up on the rocks and Mac is informed. On arriving he meets with Detective Inspector Kendal from Dorchester Police. At first, they wonder if it could be Edward, George’s father but it is soon found to be Patrick Duggan, son of a well-known nightclub owner. Could the dead man be at all connected to the strange lights seen recently close in shore? Rina takes on her sleuthing duties, along with Tim, and is determined to find out more.

Patrick’s father Jimmy contacts Mac and wants to help find his son’s killer. He knows that Rina had something to do with Edward’s disappearance and wants to meet with both her and George. Jimmy confirms George’s father worked for him.

We then learn of how several families – the Duggans included, who have had their children kidnapped and held to ransom. Most had them returned, but Jimmy refused to co-operate, hence Patrick being killed. Together with one of the fathers Jimmy is determined to recruit some of the other families and prevent any more kidnappings. He asks Rina to help him, he is sure he knows who is behind the crimes. However, when young twin girls are taken and the demands are different, he suspects someone else may be “muscling in”.

Then Jimmy Duggan’s daughter is taken. Now things really hot up and Mac, Rina and Tim have their work cut out to discover who is behind the new kidnappings. As it seems things can’t get any worse, there is another murder. How will this all end?

Jane Adams certainly knows how to write a gripping story. This is every bit as thrilling as her first, maybe even more so. Every page grips the reader and I thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewer: Tricia Chappell

Jane Adams was born in Leicestershire, where she still lives. She has a degree in Sociology and has held a variety of jobs including lead vocalist in a folk rock band. She enjoys pen and ink drawing; martial arts and her ambition is to travel the length of the Silk Road by motorbike. Her first book, The Greenway, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award. Jane writes several series.  Her first series featured Mike Croft. Several books featuring DS Ray Flowers. Seven titles featuring blind Naoimi Blake, and six titles featuring Rina Martin. In 2016 she started a series set between the two World Wars and featuring Detective Inspector Henry Johnstone and his sergeant, Micky Hitchens.  Bury Me deep is the first book in a series featuring Detective Inspector Rozlyn Priest.  Jane has also written several standalone novels. She is married with two children.

Tricia Chappell. I have a great love of books and reading, especially crime and thrillers. I play the occasional game of golf (when I am not reading). My great love is cruising especially to far flung places, when there are long days at sea for plenty more reading! I am really enjoying reviewing books and have found lots of great new authors.


No comments:

Post a Comment