Recent Events

Saturday 18 September 2021

Bloody Scotland: The Mcilvanney Prize 2021


Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival Reveals Morrison And Russell To Be The Winners Of The Bloody Scotland Debut Prize For Crime Fiction And The Mcilvanney Prize 2021

sponsored by The Glencairn Glass with match funding from Culture & Business Fund Scotland.

The McIlvanney award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones. Previous winners are Francine Toon with Pine in 2020, Manda Scott with A Treachery of Spies in 2019 (who chose to share her prize with all the finalists), Liam McIlvanney with The Quaker in 2018, Denise Mina with The Long Drop 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

Shortlisted authors for the McIlvanney Prize 2021 were:

Hyde by Craig Russell (Constable) – from Stirling
The April Dead by Alan Parks (Canongate) – from Glasgow
The Coffin Maker’s Garden
by Stuart MacBride (HarperCollins) – from Aberdeen
The Silent Daughter by Emma Christie (Welbeck) – from Ayrshire / Aberdeen / Portobello
Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison (Macmillan) – from Helensburgh / Glasgow

No comments:

Post a Comment