Recent Events

Wednesday 4 May 2022

CrimeFest 2022: It's A Fair Cop: Writing the Modern Police Procedural

     Saturday 14 May 2022

 Panel are: Jørn Lier Horst, Simon McCleave, Tim Sullivan,
Sarah Ward,

and the participating Moderator is Helen Fields.

Jørn Lier Horst was born 27 February 1970, Telematk, Norway. He worked in Larvik from 1995-2013 becoming a Senior Investigating Officer. He made his debut in 2004 with the crime novel Key Witness, based on a true murder story. The detective character in his novels is William Wisting. He is considered as one of Norway's leading crime writers. Intricate, elaborate and almost insoluble mysteries have become his specialty.

Simon McCleave is a million selling crime novelist who lives in North Wales with his wife and two children. His first book, The Snowdonia Killings, was released in January 2020 reached #1 in the UK Chart, selling 250,000 copies. His nine subsequent novels in the DI Ruth Hunter Snowdonia series have all been top 20 bestsellers. Simon is about to launch a new crime series based in Anglesey in May 2022 for Harper Collins. The Dark Tide is Published 12 may 2022.

Tim Sullivan is an acclaimed screenwriter, whose credits include A Handful Of Dust, Jack And Sarah (which he also directed) and My Little Pony – A New Generation. He is also a Television director whose credits include Sherlock Holmes and Cold Feet. He has now embarked on a series of crime novels – The Dentist, The Cyclist and The Patient set in Bristol featuring the eccentric and socially-awkward, but brilliantly persistent DS George Cross.

Sarah Ward is an online book reviewer whose blog, Crimepieces, reviews the best of current crime fiction published around the world. She is a judge for the Petrona Award for translated Scandinavian crime novels. Sarah lives in rural Derbyshire where her debut novel, In Bitter Chill, published by Faber and Faber, is set. Sarah has now published three further books, the most recent being The Shrouded Path. As Rhiannon Ward she is the author of two gothic historical thrillers. Her first, The Quickening, was a Radio Times book of the year and The Shadowing was a Daily Express critic's favourite of 2021.

Helen Fields, a former barrister, now writes a Scottish crime series, featuring D.I.Callanach and D.I. Ava Turner. Her debut novel Perfect Remains and the second in the series Perfect Prey are Amazon best sellers. There are now seven books in the series, the most recent is One for Sorrow published in March 2022.  She wrote The Shadow Man featuring a psychological profiler, and legal thriller She lives in Hampshire with her husband, three children.

No comments:

Post a Comment