Recent Events

Wednesday 7 December 2016

‘Crimson Snow’ Edited by Martin Edwards

Published by the British Library.
ISBN: 978-0-7123-5665-7

This is another great anthology, produced by the British Library and edited by Martin Edwards, who also writes an interesting foreword to each story with information about the authors, many of whom are forgotten and out-of-print, although others, like Margery Allingham and Edgar Wallace are still well-known. The contents of the anthology are described as ‘winter mysteries’ but the majority of the stories are based around Christmas, with the exception of Ianthe Jerrold’s Off the Tiles. The time range of the stories moves between The Ghost’s Touch by Fergus Hume, which is set in 1893, in the reign of Queen Victoria, to the final story, The Carol Singers by Josephine Bell set in the 1960s.

This is a thoroughly enjoyable anthology with something for every taste. I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Reviewer: Carol Westron

Martin Edwards was born 7 July 1955 at Knutsford, Cheshire and educated in Northwich and at Balliol College, Oxford University, taking a first class honours degree in law. He trained as a solicitor in Leeds and moved to Liverpool on qualifying in 1980. He published his first legal article at the age of 25 and his first book, about legal aspects of buying a business computer at 27, before spending just over 30 years as a partner of a law firm, where he is now a consultant. He is married to Helena with two children (Jonathan and Catherine) and lives in Lymm. A member of the Murder Squad a collective of crime writers, Martin is a member of the Crime Writers’ Association’s Committee. In 2007 he was appointed the Archivist of the Crime Writers Association and in 2011 he was appointed the Archivist of the Detection Club. For more information visit:

Carol Westron is a successful short story writer and a Creative Writing teacher.  She is the moderator for the cosy/historical crime panel, The Deadly Dames.  Her crime novels are set both in contemporary and Victorian times.  The Terminal Velocity of Cats is the first in her Scene of Crimes novels, was published July 2013. Her latest book The Fragility of Poppies was published 10 June 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment