Recent Events

Sunday 31 May 2020

‘The Liar’ by Jane Adams

Published by Joffe Book,
19 November 2019.
ISBN: 978-1-78931267-6 (PB)

John Tynan, retired police officer, is surprised to find himself in love again. Grace, his childhood sweetheart and wife of 40 years had died twelve years previously and John had not expected that he would ever have those feelings again.  But Martha Toolin, eighteen years his junior, had changed all that.

Heading out to visit Martha at her hotel one morning John is devastated by the news that Martha had been discovered dead in her room – stabbed.

Called to the scene to investigate is Detective Mike Croft. It is 10 years since Mike Croft was last in this part of Norfolk leading the search for a young girl who disappeared in The Greenway. That was also where he first met and became friends with John Tynan who worked on the case with him. 

Investigations reveal that the address supplied by Martha does not exist and the more they dig the more complex appears her life.  Although a stranger in the area there are reports that she was seen the day before arguing with a young boy. Who was he? But that is not the only trail they have to follow for further investigation reveals that Martha Toolin was not her only name and slowly John Tynan realises that everything he knew about the woman he loved was a lie.  Just who was she? 

Sightings of a large black dog-shaped creature are being reported from various people in the area. Even John Tynan states that he saw it, the night before Martha was found dead. The creature stared at him and then snarled, and John beat a hasty retreat.  Is this creature a harbinger of death? Then another body is found.

I have read many books by this author and enjoyed them all. Recommended
Reviewer: Lizzie Sirett

Jane Adams was born in Leicestershire, where she still lives. She has a degree in Sociology and has held a variety of jobs including lead vocalist in a folk-rock band. She enjoys pen and ink drawing; martial arts and her ambition is to travel the length of the Silk Road by motorbike. Her first book, The Greenway, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award. Jane writes several series.  Her first series featured Mike Croft. There are several books featuring DS Ray Flowers. Twelve titles featuring blind Naoimi Blake, and more recently seven books featuring Rina Martin. Her latest series is set in the 1920’s and features Chief Inspector Henry Johnson. Jane has also written three standalone novels. She is married with two children.

No comments:

Post a Comment