Recent Events

Saturday 27 April 2019

Writing the First Draft

CrimeFest Saturday 11 May 2019
16:20 - 17:10

Authors' Secrets of Work in Progress
discussed by:

Simon Brett who has published over a hundred books, including the Charles Paris, Mrs Pargeter, Fethering and Blotto & Twinks series. His stand-alone, A Shock to the System, became a feature film, starring Michael Caine. Bill Nighy plays Charles Paris in the Radio 4 adaptations of his books. In 2014 Simon was presented with the Crime Writers’ Association’s Diamond Dagger, and he was made an O.B.E. in the 2016 New Year’s Honours ‘for services to literature’.

Mick Herron’s novels include the Gold and Steel-Dagger-winning Jackson Lambseries. His work has been nominated for the Theakstons, Macavity, Barry and Shamus awards, and he is a two-time winner of the CrimeFest Last Laugh Award. His latest publication is the standalone thriller This Is What Happened. He lives in Oxford and writes full time.

Linda Stratmann is the author of two crime fiction series with Victorian settings and female sleuths. In the Bayswater murder mysteries, young, determined Frances Doughty combats both wily criminals and prejudice against lady detectives. In Brighton, diminutive Mina Scarletti writes ghost stories and exposes fraudulent spirit mediums who extort money from the vulnerable bereaved. Linda has also written biography and true crime, including a history of nineteenth century poison murder.

Sarah Ward is the author of four DC Childs novels, In Bitter Chill, A Deadly Thaw, A Patient Fury and The Shrouded Path set in the Derbyshire Peak District where she lives. Sarah was a 2015 Amazon Rising Star, A Patient Fury was the Observer's Thriller of the Month in 2017 and The Shrouded Path an Amazon kindle top ten bestseller. She is a judge for the Petrona Award for Scandinavian translated crime novels.

Robert Thorogood is the participating modorator.
is an English screenwriter. He is best known as the creator of the BBC One murder mystery series Death in Paradise. He won France Film's "En Route to France" award in 2012. 

No comments:

Post a Comment