Recent Events

Saturday, 15 April 2017

‘The Nowhere Man’ by Greg Hurwitz

Published by Penquin,
26 January 2017.
ISBN: 978-0-71818-185-7

Once, he was known as Orphan X.....

As a boy, Evan Smoak was taken away from a children's home and raised and trained as part of the Orphan programme - an undercover and off-the-books operation producing highly-trained assassins for the American government. But Smoak left the programme and vanished off the grid, wanting to use his skills to help those who couldn’t help themselves – an avenging angel at the end of a mobile phone, if you like. But the new head of the Orphan programme hasn't forgotten him – and wants him eliminated.

The Nowhere Man is the second book in the Evan Smoak series - but don't let that put you off. Hurwitz gives enough well-placed back story to ensure you get to know Smoak's character and motivations pretty quickly - and Smoak is still under the radar and still being hunted. But his luck is running out. He is ambushed, drugged, and spirited away to a heavily guarded remote location – and he only has a few days to escape.

We are deep in high-octane thriller territory here with its necessary suspension of disbelief. The Nowhere Man starts at breakneck speed and doesn't stop – there is no time for characters’ personal reflection or debating the philosophy of life. We speed up and down the plot twist rollercoaster, and just when you think you've got it all figured out, there’s another dizzying ride to the top and down again. Even the explosive and intriguing ending was impossible to see coming, and it leaves you with a delicious level of anticipation for the next book in the series.

If you enjoy thrillers, you'll love this.
Reviewer: Mary-Jane Riley

Gregg Hurwitz is the internationally bestselling author of I See You, We Know, and Or She Dies. His most recent thriller, You’re Next, was a Richard and Judy selection. A graduate of Harvard and Oxford Universities, he lives with his family in California, where he writes screenplays and comics, and produces for the blockbuster television hit V.

Mary-Jane Riley wrote her first story on her newly acquired blue Petite typewriter. She was eight. It was about a gang of children who had adventures on mysterious islands, but she soon realised Enid Blyton had cornered that particular market. So she wrote about the Wild West instead. When she grew up she had to earn a living, and became a BBC radio talk show presenter and journalist. She has covered many life-affirming stories, but also some of the darkest events of the past two decades. Then, in true journalistic style, she decided not to let the facts get in the way of a good story and got creative. She wrote for women's magazines and small presses. She formed WriteOutLoud with two writer friends to help charities get their message across using their life stories. Now she is writing psychological suspense, drawing on her experiences in journalism. The Bad Things by Mary-Jane Riley was published by Harper Collins/Killer Reads. Her second book, After She Fell, also published by Killer Reads in April 2016.  To read the review of Killer reads click here

No comments:

Post a Comment