Recent Events

Tuesday, 15 July 2014

‘Sea of Stone’ by Michael Ridpath

Published by Corvus,
6 May 2014.
ISBN: 978-1-782-393917
This is the 4th book in the Fire & Ice series.  Ridpath has a real gift for describing the harsh realities of hard-scrabble farming in the remoter parts of Iceland.  Lava-fields, glaciers, isolation and cold are part of the everyday lives of those trying to scratch a living from the land.  Mix that in with tales from the Icelandic Sagas, plus family feuds, deadly secrets, anger and hatred and you have a gripping story guaranteed to keep you turning the pages.

A hateful old man is found dead in his house.  Who did it?  A whole slew of possible suspects stands up to be counted, including his grandson Magnus, Icelandic-born, American-bred policeman working in his own country.  Magnus is the protagonist in this series and early on, the reader knows he can't be the guilty party.  It's also obvious that he knows who is – or thinks he does. I thought I knew, too, and unlike Magnus, I was right!  Which does not in the least detract from this absorbing tale of murder and mystery.  Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Susan Moody

Michael Ridpath was born in Devon in 1961, but brought up in Yorkshire. He was educated at Millfield, Merton College, Oxford. Before becoming a writer, Michael Ridpath used to work in the City of London as a bond trader.  He has written eight thrillers set in the worlds of business and finance, but is now trying his hand at something slightly different.  Where The Shadows Lie, the first in the Fire and Ice series featuring an Icelandic detective named Magnus Jonson, was published in 2010.  He has published two further books in the series.  He now lives in North London.

Susan Moody was born in Oxford is the principal nom de plume  of Susan Elizabeth Donaldson, née Horwood, a British novelist best known for her suspense novels. She is a former Chairman of the Crime Writer's Association, served as World President of the International Association of Crime Writers, and was elected to the prestigious Detection Club. Susan Moody has given numerous courses on writing crime fiction and continues to teach creative writing in England, France, Australia, the USA and Denmark.  In addition to her many stand alone books, Susan has written two series, on featuring PI Penny Wanawake (seven books) and a series of six books featuring bridge player Cassie Swan.

No comments:

Post a Comment