Recent Events

Wednesday 20 June 2018

Bloody Scotland - Longlist Announced.

"Forty-one years ago, William McIlvanney rocked the British literary world with Laidlaw, a gritty and socially conscious crime novel that brought Glasgow to life more vividly than anything before. This year's longlistees for the McIlvanney Prize demonstrate how modern Scottish crime writing has flourished from those seeds. From debutants to authors with more than 20 books, spy thrillers to long-running detective series, nineteenth-century mysteries to futuristic space station noir, there's an amazing range of talent on show."
Craig Sisterson – Chair of the Judges 2018

‘I went to Bloody Scotland and I was just knocked out... this event was so friendly, so supportive I was honestly overwhelmed’
William McIlvanney – speaking on BBC Scotland, 2012

Two years ago, the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney who established the tradition of Scottish detective fiction. This year his son, Liam McIlvanney, has made the longlist for the 2018 McIlvanney Prize.

The complete longlist, revealed today, has been chosen by an independent panel of readers:

Lin Anderson, Follow the Dead (Macmillan)

Chris Brookmyre, Places in the Darkness (Little, Brown)

Mason Cross, Presumed Dead (Orion)

Charles Cumming, The Man Between (Harper Collins)

Oscar De Muriel, The Loch of the Dead (Michael Joseph)

Helen Fields, Perfect Death (Harper Collins)

Alison James, Now She’s Gone (Bookouture)

Liam McIlvanney, The Quaker (Harper Collins)

James Oswald, No Time to Cry (Headline)

Caro Ramsay, The Suffering of Strangers (Severn House)

Andrew Reid, The Hunter (Headline)

Craig Robertson, The Photographer (Simon & Schuster)

It features an intriguing mix of previous winners, established crime writing luminaries, some emerging talent and a debut.  The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1,000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

The judges for the next round will be chaired by Craig Sisterson and include comedian and crime fiction fan, Susan Calman who like Craig is joining the panel for a second year and crime reviewer, Alison Flood.

The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner kept under wraps until the ceremony itself which this year will take place at the Church of the Holy Rude in Stirling and followed by a torchlight procession – led by the winner accompanied by Denise Mina and Val McDermid – to their first event at the Albert Halls.

For further information or to request press tickets please contact 07767 431 846
@brownlee_donald @bloodyscotland

No comments:

Post a Comment