Recent Events

Wednesday, 22 July 2020

CWA Shortlists to be Announced

The shortlists for the coveted 2020 CWA Daggers will be revealed at 9am on
Thursday 6 August 2020.
The world-famous Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Daggers, which honour the very best in crime writing, are the oldest awards in the genre. Created in 1955, the CWA Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over half a century.
Categories include the CWA Gold Dagger, awarded to the best crime novel,
and the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for the best thriller.
Past winners of the Gold Dagger include
Jane Harper,
Ann Cleeves,
Ian Rankin
 Val McDermid
 The Daggers are also renowned for showcasing new authors. The much-anticipated
John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger
for best debut novel has throughout the years recognised major new talent including
Dreda Say Mitchell, Louise Welsh and Gillian Flynn.
The shortlists are whittled down from the Longlists by the diverse judging panels, which consist of leading and respected journalists, publishers, academics, literary critics and authors.
Judges include former Guardian crime correspondent turned author, Duncan Campbell, leading book blogger and Daily Express reviewer Anne Cater, popular culture chronicler Woody Haut, broadcaster Angela Rippon and head reviewer for Love Reading, Liz Robinson.
The winners of the 2020 Daggers will be announced at an
awards ceremony on 22 October.
The shortlists will be available on the CWA website from 9am on 6 August,
as well as via Facebook, Twitter and YouTube with the hashtag #CWADaggers.

No comments:

Post a Comment