Recent Events

Thursday 22 September 2016

‘The Evolution of Fear’ by Paul E Hardisty

Published by Orenda Books,
5 May 2016.
ISBN: 978-1-91063-324-3   

Claymore Striker is running for his life. He is a wanted man with a price on his head for acts of terrorism he didn’t commit. Added to that, his best friend has been murdered, the woman he loves, journalist Rania, has disappeared while following a story about dirty dealings. She is in danger, and Striker must find her before its too late. His search takes him to Cyprus and slap-bang into a violent struggle between the Russian mafia, Greek Cypriot extremists and Turkish developers cashing in on the tourism boom. In his search for Rania, Clay has to deal with corrupt politicians and dangerous businessmen as well as stay one step ahead of those from his past who want him dead.

The writing is taut and gripping. Claymore Striker is an action hero with flaws – he struggles with the dark deeds he has committed in the past, but he is brave, loyal and fights against the injustices he sees around him. He keeps going despite the dangers and a succession of injuries. The action is thrilling, and at a breakneck pace, and the landscape in which the action is set is described by the author so vividly you can feel the heat and taste the dust.

There is also a message behind the story: how much damage we can do to the environment as we pursue profit at any cost. It’s a message Paul E Hardisty is qualified to deliver as he has spent many years working all over the world as a hydrologist, engineer and environmental scientist.
But the book wears its message lightly. Above all, it is a highly entertaining and high-octane thriller.

The Evolution of Fear is the second of a planned trilogy. I haven’t read the first, The Abrupt Physics of Dying (though I intend to now!), but I didn’t feel I had missed out too much, as anything I felt I needed to know had been woven very cleverly into the story. Roll on Claymore Striker number three.
Reviewer: Mary-Jane Riley
Paul Hardisty is a writer, chartered environmental engineer, university professor, and triathlete. He lives in Perth, Western Australia, with his wife Heidi, and sons Zachary and Declan. His first novel, The Abrupt Physics of Dying, has just been published by Orenda Books. It is a story of greed, corruption, and the power of redemption.

Mary-Jane Riley wrote her first story on her newly acquired blue Petite typewriter. She was eight. It was about a gang of children who had adventures on mysterious islands, but she soon realised Enid Blyton had cornered that particular market. So she wrote about the Wild West instead. When she grew up she had to earn a living, and became a BBC radio talk show presenter and journalist. She has covered many life-affirming stories, but also some of the darkest events of the past two decades.
Then, in true journalistic style, she decided not to let the facts get in the way of a good story and got creative. She wrote for women's magazines and small presses. She formed WriteOutLoud with two writer friends to help charities get their message across using their life stories. Now she is writing psychological suspense, drawing on her experiences in journalism.
The Bad Things by Mary-Jane Riley was published by Harper Collins/Killer Reads. Her second book, After She Fell, also published by Killer Reads, is out on April 28th.
In her spare time Mary-Jane likes to walk the dog and eat a lot. Good job she likes walking.

No comments:

Post a Comment