Recent Events

Monday, 18 March 2019

‘The Rebel’ by Jaime Raven


Published by Avon,
5 April 2018.
ISBN: 978-0-00-825349-3 (PB)

DI Laura Jefferson and her colleagues on Scotland Yard’s elite Serious Organised Crime Unit are determined to bring to justice the mastermind at the head of London’s most notorious crime gang, Roy Slack who, so far, has managed to evade all attempts to convict him of any crime.

Suddenly, the pressure is on. Each member of the team receives an email to say that unless the unit is disbanded immediately, they or a close family member, will be a target. They are convinced that Slack is responsible. Then the killings begin. One every day.

The first on list is one of Laura’s colleagues who has recently become a father, the second the wife of a second officer shot in the bookshop where she works. The team is at a loss. They have nothing to go on. The assassin has Laura lined up to be the third victim. She manages to evade the bullet, but her partner, Aiden is shot in the shoulder. Keeping up the daily count, the assassin then kills a policeman.  Now the race is on! It’s a lead of sorts, though it brings the team no nearer to being able to track down the assassin. The pressure mounts as the media demands to know why Britain’s top police unit appear helpless in the face of a ruthless killer who appears to be roaming around London taking pot shots at any police officer at will.

This is no longer a case of doing her job to the best of her ability. The issue is now personal. With no leads, the team are helpless. They have made no real progress since day one. Laura is forced to ask herself, how far will she go to protect the ones she loves? Will she take the law into her own hands to bring down Slack and his hired killer?   

The story is told through three viewpoints – DI Laura Jefferson, Roy Slack and, the assassin. Slack has hired from the head of one of Mexico’s most powerful mafia bosses. This allows the reader to form a more rounded picture of the main contenders. We can appreciate the motivations for their actions, their weaknesses and their strengths as the story develops.

Fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers will love this gritty, fast-paced, gang-land roller-coaster ride of a novel. The twists and turns will keep the reader guessing and the fast and furious pace as the story hots up will leave them breathless.
-------
Reviewer: Judith Cranswick


Jaime Raven (James Raven) has been a journalist for most of his working life. After reporting for local, regional and national newspapers he moved into television as a news scriptwriter. He then worked his way up to become Director of a UK News Division. He now runs his own TV production company. James spends much of his time writing and travelling. He is also an accomplished magician. He is the author of a number of books including After the Execution, Malicious, Rollover, Stark Warning, Urban Myth, Red Blitz and Arctic Blood.
 


Judith Cranswick was born and brought up in Norwich. She wrote her first novel (now languishing in the back of a drawer somewhere) when her two children were toddlers, but there was little time for writing when she returned to work teaching Geography in a large comprehensive. It was only after leaving her headship that she was able to take up writing again in earnest. Judith teaches Tai Chi, and line dancing, yoga, Pilates and Zumba. Her other hobbies include reading and travelling. She is lucky enough to be a cruise lecturer. You can read some of her adventures – the Ups and Downs of Being a Cruise Lecturer on her September 2014 blog on her home page. Judith’s latest book is Blood Flows South to read a review click on the title

No comments:

Post a comment