Recent Events

Friday 6 April 2018

Book 'Em, Danno

CrimeFest 17 May 2018
14:40 - 15:30

Talking about Writing the Police Procedural will be:

M W Craven who was born in Cumbria in 1968, but grew up in the Born in a Burial Gown, was shortlisted for the Crime Writers' Association Debut Dagger Award.  He has also written a collection of short stories featuring Fluke and his colleagues from the Cumbrian Force Major Incident Team, Assume Nothing, Believe Nobody, Challenge Everything. His latest book is The Puppet Show. He lives in Carlisle. Mike is a member of the Crime Writers' Association, the International Thriller Writers' Association, and the Mystery People Group. 

Luke McCallin born in Oxford, but grew up in Africa, was educated around the world, and has worked with the UN as a humanitarian relief worker and peacekeeper in the Caucasus, the Sahel, and the Balkans. His experiences have driven his writing, in which he explores what happens to normal people put under abnormal pressures, inspiring a historical mystery series built around an unlikely protagonist, Gregor Reinhardt, a German intelligence officer and a former Berlin detective chased out of the police by the Nazis. The Man From Berlin was published in 2013, followed by a sequel, The Pale House, in 2014.He lives with his wife and two children in an old farmhouse in France in the Jura Mountains.

Leigh Russell who studied at the University of Kent gaining a Masters degree in English and American literature. Formerly a secondary school English teacher, with the success of her Geraldine Steel series, Leigh now writes full-time. Her debut novel, Cut Short, was published in 2009 by No Exit Press in the UK, featuring detective Geraldine Steel. There are now 11 books in the series. Leigh also writes a spinoff series for Geraldine's sergeant, Ian Peterson. Of which there are three in the series. Her latest series published by Thomas and Mercer feature Lucy Hall. The first in the series is Journey to Death. Leigh Russell is married with two daughters and lives in Middlesex.

Robert Scragg a northerner born and bred who has had a random mix of jobs to date, including bookseller, pizza deliverer, Karate instructor, and Football Coach. He originally intended to join the legal profession, but after getting his degree, ended up with a job in Telecoms. His first novel, What Falls Between the Cracks, is the first in the Porter & Styles series. Robert lives in Tyne & Wear, with his wife, children.  Robert is also a founding member of the North East Noir crime writers which meets regularly to discuss each other’s WIP’s, offer/receive feedback & chat about all things crime fiction related.

 Participating Moderator is Elly Griffiths 

Elly Griffiths the author of a series of crime novels set in England’s Norfolk county and featuring forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway. The first in the series, Crossing Places, earned a good deal of praise both in Griffiths’ native country, England, and in the U.S. The Literary Review termed it “a cleverly plotted and extremely interesting first novel, highly recommended.  Since then Elly has written ten further novels featuring forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway.  The most recent is The Dark Angel. Recently she has written a second series set in the 1950’s featuring magician Max Mephisto and DI Stevens. There are four books in the new series. Click on the title to read a review of Elly’s latest Max Mephisto Book. The Vanishing Box.

No comments:

Post a Comment