Recent Events

Wednesday 19 June 2013

‘Shadows in the Cotswolds’ by Rebecca Tope

Published by Allison & Busby, 2013.
ISBN: 978-0-7490-1123-9

In this twelfth book in the series we find Thea in pensive mood, with no house-sittingcommitment for some weeks. So when her mother calls to say she knows a man in Winchcombe who’s wanting someone to mind his house for a fortnight’, Thea finds herself on her way, hoping for a few days of quiet and solitude. She wants to examine her feelings for Drew Slocombe, the death of whose wife has abruptly terminated their relationship. 

But a few days minding Oliver Meadows house, is soon interrupted by the discovery of a dead body in the garden.  Moreover, Thea discovers that Oliver is the brother of Frazer Meadows, with whom her mother has linked up after a gap of thirty years, and they are both coming to stay.

Whilst a satisfying mystery, as I couldn't work out whodunit and why,  there is much introspection in the book. Thea is struggling with her feelings, and her mother has a new old love that she cannot quite sort out.  Although Drew Slocombe is not actually involved in this investigation,  he is also struggling with his feelings.

As with all previous books in the series, Rebecca Tope brings to life the village and its inhabitants.  I always want to get in the car and go there.  Mystery upon mystery with great characterisation. This is a must.
Reviewer: Lizzie Hayes

Rebecca Tope  is the author of three popular murder mystery series, featuring Den Cooper, Devon police detective, Drew Slocombe, Undertaker, and Thea Osborne, house sitter in the Cotswolds. Rebecca grew up on farms, first in Cheshire then in Devon, and now lives in rural Herefordshire on a smallholding situated close to the beautiful Black Mountains.
Besides "ghost writer" of the novels based on the ITV series Rosemary and Thyme. Rebecca is also the proprietor of a small press - Praxis Books. This was established in 1992

No comments:

Post a Comment