Recent Events

Thursday 30 March 2023

Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel Of The Year 2023 Key Dates Revealed.


The 2023 dates for this year’s Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year have been announced, with the award set to recognise the best crime novels that have gripped readers over the past year.

Longlist Announced: Thursday 27 April 2023

Shortlist Announced: Thursday 15 June 2023

Winner Announced: Thursday 20 July 2023

The award, now in its nineteenth year, is presented by Harrogate International Festivals and recognises the best crime novels published in the UK and Ireland in paperback over the past year. The winner receives £3,000 and a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by T&R Theakston Ltd.

Previous recipients of the award include
Mick Herron (Slough House, 2022),
Chris Whitaker (We Begin at the End, 2021), 
Steve Cavanagh
 (Thirteen, 2019),
Clare Mackintosh
(I Let You Go, 2016),
Belinda Bauer (Rubbernecker, 2014)
and Denise Mina (Gods and Beasts, 2013).

The winner will be announced during the opening ceremony of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, which this year celebrates its 20th anniversary.
The Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival (20 – 23 July), will see crime fiction icons including Vaseem Khan, Val McDermid, Lee Child and Andrew Child, Ann Cleeves, Jeffery Deaver, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Chris Hammer and S.A. Cosby and more take to the stage to discuss all things crime fiction.

The recipient of the Festival’s Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award will also be announced on 20 July. Previous winners including Michael Connelly, Ian Rankin OBE, Mark Billingham, James Patterson, John Grisham, Lee Child, Val McDermid, Lynda La Plante, Ruth Rendell, Colin Dexter and P.D. James. 

No comments:

Post a Comment